Holiday hours

All our libraries will be closed on statutory public holidays. See our normal hours and locations.

Waitangi Day - Saturday 6 February 2016

6 February is Waitangi Day, a public holiday which commemorates the signing, in 1840, of the Treaty of Waitangi between Māori and representatives of the British Crown. All Christchurch City Libraries branches will be closed on Saturday 6 February.

Saturday 6 February - closed

Sunday 7 February - open normal hours

Monday 8 February - Waitangi Day observed. Libraries closed except Fendalton, Te Hāpua: Halswell, Shirley, South, and library phone service open from 10am to 4pm.

Easter hours 2016

In New Zealand, both the Friday (Good Friday) and the Monday of Easter are statutory public holidays. Libraries are open normal hours on Saturday and Easter Sunday, except Linwood Library at Eastgate.

Friday 25 March Closed
Saturday 26 March Open normal hours
Sunday 27 March Open normal hours (except Linwood Library at Eastgate which is closed on Sunday if Eastgate Mall is closed)
Monday 28 March Closed

Anzac Day  - Monday 25 April 2016

All Christchurch City Libraries branches will be closed for Anzac Day.

Queen's Birthday - Monday 6 June 2016

All Christchurch City Libraries branches will be closed for Queen's Birthday.

Labour Day - Monday 24 October 2016

All Christchurch City Libraries branches will be closed for Labour Day.

Show Day - Friday 11 November 2016

All Christchurch City Libraries branches will be closed for Show Day.

Christmas and New Year 2016/2017

All libraries will be closed on Sunday 25 and Monday 26 December 2016.
Some libraries will be open on Tuesday 27 December. Details will be published closer to the date.

On Wednesday 28, Thursday 29 and 30 December 2016, Upper Riccarton, Fendalton, Te Hāpua: Halswell Centre and South Libraries will close early at 6pm

All libraries will be closed on Sunday 1 and Monday 2nd January 2017. Some libraries will be open on Tuesday 3 January 2017.

Print