Christmas and New Year holiday hours 2019 / 2020

Check our opening hours for the holidays

Ngā mihi o te wā me te Tau Hou. All our libraries will be closed on statutory public holidays.
See our normal hours and locations. Italicised information is to be confirmed.

 

Opening hours and services over the holidays

  • Little River Library will be closed from 4.30pm Monday 23 December and opens again Friday 3 January 2020 at 8.30am.
  • The Mobile Library's last day of operation for 2019 is Monday 23 December, and it will be back on the road on Monday 6 January 2020.
  • Archives: Specialist assistance from an archivist will not be possible from Friday 27 December 2019 until Monday 13 January 2020. Archives at Tūranga will be available to view during this time.
  • Interlibrary loan service will be closed from Monday 23 December 2019 and will resume on Monday 6 January 2020. Requests may take an additional time to arrive due to library closures and reduced services over the Christmas/ New Year period so Interloans may not be supplied in the usual timely manner.
  • Explore the holiday hours for Justices of the Peace (JPs) at libraries. If you need a JP over the holiday season, use Find a JP and find a list of local Justices with contact details.JPs at Te Hāpua: Halswell Centre will have their last day for the year on Tuesday 17 December and will then resume in the New Year on Tuesday 14 January 2020.
  • Bindery will close at end of business on Tuesday 24 December, and reopen on Friday 3 January 2020.

Tuesday 24 December All libraries open as normal and close at 6pm.

Wednesday 25 December (Christmas Day) - All libraries closed.

Thursday 26 December (Boxing Day) - All libraries closed.

Friday 27 December  All libraries will close at 6pm except:

Saturday 28 December All libraries open as normal except:

Sunday 29 December All libraries open as normal.

Monday 30 December All libraries will close at 6pm except:

Tuesday 31 December All libraries will close at 6pm, except:

Wednesday 1 January 2020 (New Year's Day) - All libraries closed.

Thursday 2 January 2020 (New Year Holiday) - All libraries closed.

Friday 3 January 2020  Normal hours resume, except Mobile Library is closed until Monday 6 January.

Christchurch City Council Service Desks

Christchurch City Council Service desks at the following libraries will be closed from Wednesday 25 December and will re-open on Friday 3 January 2020:

  • Beckenham (South Library)
  • Fendalton
  • Hornby
  • Linwood
  • Little River
  • Lyttelton
  • Papanui
  • Shirley

Te Hāpua: Halswell Centre service desk hours

  • Christmas Eve Tuesday 24 December 9am to 6pm
  • Christmas Day Wednesday 25 December CLOSED
  • Boxing Day Thursday 26 December 11.30am to 7pm
  • Friday 27 December 9am to 7pm
  • Saturday 28 and Sunday 29 December 11.30am to 7pm
  • Monday 30 December 9am to 6pm
  • New Year’s Eve Tuesday 31 December 9am to 6pm
  • New Year’s Day Wednesday 1 January 2020 11.30am to 6pm
  • New Year holiday Thursday 2 January 2020 11.30am to 7pm
  • Friday 3 January 2020 9am to 7pm
  • Saturday 4 and Sunday 5 January 2020 11.30am to 7pm