Akaroa Library

Closed until 10:00am Monday

Monday 
10:00AM - 4:30PM

Tuesday 
10:00AM - 4:30PM

Wednesday 
10:00AM - 4:30PM

Thursday 
10:00AM - 4:30PM

Friday 
10:00AM - 4:30PM

Saturday 
10:00AM - 1:00PM

Sunday 
Closed

2 Selwyn Avenue
Akaroa, 7520
Phone: 03-941 7923
Akaroa Community and School Library / Te Kete Wānanga o Te Ao Marama.

Changes in hours or services

Libraries affected by COVID-19

Check for the latest information on changes in opening hours or closures.

Upcoming Events

Holidays and Closures

  • Waitangi Day
    Monday, February 6, 2023
    Closed All Day
  • Good Friday 7 April
    Friday, April 7, 2023
    Closed All Day
  • Easter Monday 10 April
    Monday, April 10, 2023
    Closed All Day
  • Anzac Day 25 April
    Tuesday, April 25, 2023
    Closed All Day
  • King's Birthday 5 June
    Monday, June 5, 2023
    Closed All Day
  • Matariki 14 July
    Friday, July 14, 2023
    Closed All Day
  • Labour Day
    Monday, October 23, 2023
    Closed All Day
  • Show Day
    Friday, November 17, 2023
    Closed All Day
  • Christmas Day
    Monday, December 25, 2023
    Closed All Day
  • Boxing Day
    Tuesday, December 26, 2023
    Closed All Day

New at Akaroa Library

Akaroa

New Year's Eve fishing at Diamond Harbour

A family on New Year's Eve enjoying a spot of fishing at Diamond Harbour. An image from Canterbury Stories.

Cruise Ship at Lyttelton Harbour: Picturing Canterbury

View of a P&O Cruise Ship, Star Princess, leaving Lyttelton Harbour, 2004. An image from Canterbury Stories.

Te reo place names formally restored to the Peninsula

Jo looks at the thirteen te reo place names around Horomaka/Banks Peninsula that have been officially restored and given legal status.

Ohinetahi: Historic home and gardens

A notable house surrounded by one of New Zealand’s most celebrated gardens, in Governor's Bay.

Recent News Posts

Recent Blog Posts

Back to Top