Holiday hours

2022 Public Holidays

from Te Kāwanatanga o Aotearoa New Zealand Government

Library locations and hours

Please note: Library hours may also be affected due to Covid. Check for updates.

Labour Day

Monday 24 October - all libraries closed, Tūranga open from 10am to 5pm
Find out more about Labour Day

Canterbury Anniversary Day

Friday 11 November - all libraries closed, Tūranga open from 10am to 5pm
Find out more about Canterbury Anniversary Day

Christmas

  • Christmas Day Sunday 25 December - all libraries closed
  • Boxing Day Monday 26 December - all libraries closed
  • Christmas Day (observed) Tuesday 27 December - all libraries closed

2022 School Holidays

from Ministry of Education Te Tāhuhu o te Mātauranga

TERM 1

Starts between Monday 31 January (at the earliest); and Tuesday 8 February (at the latest), and ends Thursday 14 April (96-106 half-days)
Public holidays Waitangi Day (observed) - Monday 7 February, and Easter: Good Friday – 15 April
School holidays Saturday 16 April to Sunday 1 May (includes Easter Monday – 18 April, Easter Tuesday – 19 April (a school holiday), and Anzac Day – Monday 25 April)

TERM 2

Term start and end dates Monday 2 May to Friday 8 July (96 half-days)
Public holidays Queen’s Birthday – Monday 6 June, Matariki - Friday 24 June
School holidays Saturday 9 July to Sunday 24 July

TERM 3

Term start and end dates Monday 25 July to Friday 30 September (100 half-days)
School holidays Saturday 1 October to Sunday 16 October

TERM 4

Term start and end dates Starts Monday 17 October, and ends no later than Tuesday 20 December (92 half-days)*
Public holidays Labour Day – Monday 24 October, Christmas Day – Sunday 25 December, Boxing Day – Monday 26 December, and New Year's Day – Sunday 1 January 2023

* For primary, intermediate and special schools: or to a day in December that ensures that the school has been open for instruction for a minimum of 384 half-days in 2022. For secondary and composite schools: or to a day in December that ensures that the school has been open for instruction for 378 half-days in 2022.

Print this page