A fond farewell

Due to changing circumstances this will be my last blog for Christchurch City Libraries. I've had a whole lot of fun writing about all sorts of interesting things. In total I've written 56 blogs for the library (including this one) and three for our professional development Bibliofile site. I'm going to look back briefly at…
View More about A fond farewell

Te Tiriti o Waitangi

Treaty of Waitangi The BWB Treaty of Waitangi Collection is a rich online resource for Waitangi Day. This digital collection gives users access to a range of landmark resources on the history of the Treaty and its ongoing relevance today. This collection is your first stop for any research on the Treaty of Waitangi.The Treaty…
View More about Te Tiriti o Waitangi

Waitangi Day in Christchurch and Canterbury – Wednesday 6 February 2019

Kia ora koutou. Find out about 2019 Waitangi Day celebrations and events in Ōtautahi. Libraries are closed for the public holiday on Wednesday 6 February, but our website and eResources are available. WAITANGI DAY - WEDNESDAY 6 FEBRUARY Ngāi Tahu Treaty Festival Ōnuku Marae, 389 Ōnuku Road, Akaroa. Wednesday 6 February, 7.45am to 3pm Each…
View More about Waitangi Day in Christchurch and Canterbury – Wednesday 6 February 2019

Ōtautahi Advent Calendar 2018

24 Christmas images from the Discovery Wall. Meri Kirihimete ki a koutou. Monday 24 December Sunday 23 December Saturday 22 December Friday 21 December Thursday 20 December Wednesday 19 December Tuesday 18 December Monday 17 December Sunday 16 December Saturday 15 December Friday 14 December Thursday 13 December Wednesday 12 December Tuesday 11 December Monday…
View More about Ōtautahi Advent Calendar 2018

Inside the Four Avenues – exhibition opens Wednesday 21 November, 5.30pm at Tūranga

Nearly eight years on, the yearning for a vibrant city centre still persists, but there is hope. Hope captured in the moments of collective celebration; the intimacy between two young students; the connection between friends and neighbours as they work, live and play - all within the boundaries of an inner city reinventing itself. In…
View More about Inside the Four Avenues – exhibition opens Wednesday 21 November, 5.30pm at Tūranga

Beca Heritage Week 2018

Beca Heritage Week ran from 12 to 22 October 2018. The theme is "Strength from Struggle – Remembering our courageous communities." Christchurch Photo Hunt During the month of October Christchurch City Libraries ran its annual heritage image photo competition. Entries were  added to our digital collection. Library events  When Death Jumped Ship - Remembering the 1918…
View More about Beca Heritage Week 2018
1 - 10 of 337