Hans Christian Andersen Award

Christchurch City Libraries lists literary prize winners and links to catalogue searches, but we may not hold copies of all titles mentioned. See more kids literary prize winners.

The Hans Christian Andersen Award, considered to be the most prestigious award in international children’s literature, is given biennially by the International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY) to a living author and illustrator whose complete works are judged to have made a lasting contribution to children’s literature. The Author’s Award has been given since 1956 and the Illustrator’s Award since 1966.

See the IBBY website for more information.

Hans Christian Andersen Award for Writing

Hans Christian Andersen Award for Illustration

Print this page