Storylines Te Kahurangi Kāterina Te Heikōkō Mataira Award

Christchurch City Libraries lists literary prize winners and links to catalogue searches, but we may not hold copies of all titles mentioned. See more kids literary prize winners.

The Storylines Te Kahurangi Kāterina Te Heikōkō Mataira Award is for a manuscript written originally in te reo Māori.

It was established by Storylines in 2019 in association with Huia and  Massey University Te Pūtahi-a-Toi: School of Māori Knowledge, which provided the inaugural monetary award of $1500 for the winning author. It is also supported by the Māori Literature Trust.

The award recognises Te Kahurangi (Dame) Kāterina, opens a new window's outstanding contribution to New Zealand literature in te reo Māori, in her publishing output for children, young adults and adults, and her tireless work to promote the use of te reo Māori.

The manuscript may not be a translation of a previously published work, and the writer can submit work in any genre: picture book, junior fiction, young adult, non-fiction.

Our page on the Storylines Awards.

Recipients of the Te Kahurangi Kāterina Te Heikōkō Mataira Award are:


Brianne Te Paa for manuscript titled Kua Whetūrangitia Tōku Koro


Jane Cooper for manuscript titled Ureia


Amiria Stirling, for manuscript titled Ngā Ngeru of te Tiriti o Pāia

Print this page