Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature

Christchurch City Libraries lists literary prize winners and links to catalogue searches, but we may not hold copies of all titles mentioned. See more kids literary prize winners.

The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature honours books for younger readers (from teens to picture books), in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia. Rules for eligibility are otherwise the same as for the Adult literature award.

2017

The Inquisitor’s Tale: Or, The Three Magical Children and their Holy Dog Adam Gidwitz

2016

Castle Hangnail Ursula Vernon

2015

A Snicker of Magic Natalie Lloyd

2014

Doll bones Holly Black

2013

Vessel Sarah Beth Durst

2012

Cover of The freedom mazeThe freedom maze Delia Sherman

2011

The Queen’s thief series consisting of The thiefThe Queen of Attolia, The King of Attolia, and A conspiracy of kings Megan Whalen Turner

2010

Where the mountain meets the moon Grace Lin

2009

Graceling Kristin Cashore

2008

Cover of Harry Potter and the Deathly HallowsHarry Potter series J. K. Rowling

2007

Corbenic Catherine Fisher

2006

The Bartimaeus trilogy consisting of The amulet of Samarkand, The Golem’s eye, and Ptolemy’s gate Jonathan Stroud

2005

A hat full of skyCover: A Hat Full of Sky Terry Pratchett

2004

The hollow kingdom Clare B. Dunkle

2003

Summerland Michael Chabon

2002

The ropemaker Peter Dickinson

2001

Aria of the sea Dia Calhoun

2000

Cover: The Folk KeeperThe folk keeper Franny Billingsley

1999

Dark Lord of Derkholm Diana Wynne Jones

1998

Young Merlin trilogy (consisting of Passager, Hobby and Merlin) Jane Yolen

1997

(Combined with Adult Literature award)

1996

Book cover of The Crown of DalemarkThe crown of Dalemark Diana Wynne Jones

1995

Owl in love Patrice Kindl

1994

The kingdom of Kevin Malone Suzy McKee Charnas

1993

Knight’s Wyrd Debra Doyle and James D. Macdonald

1992

Book cover of Haroun and the Sea of StoriesHaroun and the sea of stories Salman Rushdie
Print