Sister Cities

Christchurch's Sister Cities

Christchurch has sister city relationships with seven cities. Find out more about our sister cities

Adelaide, Australia

Adelaide, the capital of South Australia, and Christchurch became sister cities in 1972.
Population: 1,295,714

Christchurch, United Kingdom

DorsetChristchurch, New Zealand and Christchurch, Dorset, United Kingdom became sister cities in 1972.
Population: 54,210

Gansu Province, China

Gansu Province became a sister city to Christchurch in 1984.
Population: 25,575,254

Kurashiki, Japan

Kurashiki is located within Okayama Prefecture on the Japanese island of Honshu, along the coastline of the Seto Inland Sea. Kurashiki and Christchurch became sister cities in 1973.
Population: 477,118

Seattle, United States of America

San Jose Mercuyr News WeeekendChristchurch became sister cities with Seattle (located in Washington State) in 1981.
Population: 688,245

Songpa-Gu, Korea

Christchurch and Songpa-Gu became sister cities in 1995.
Population: 678,553

Wuhan, China

Christchurch and Wuhan became sister cities in 2006.
Population: 7,243,000

Back to Top