National Book Critics Circle Awards

Christchurch City Libraries lists literary prize winners and links to catalogue searches, but we may not hold copies of all titles mentioned.

The National Book Critics Circle (NBCC), founded in 1974, consists of nearly 600 active book critics, authors, literary bloggers, book publishing personnel, and student members.

The NBCC Awards honour the best literature published in the United States in a number of categories. We list the following:

2021 winners


Autobiography / Memoir
Gay Bar: Why We Went Out Jeremy Atherton Lin

The Love Songs of W. E. B. DuBois Honorée Fanonne Jeffers 

General Non-Fiction
How the Word Is Passed Clint Smith

All the Frequent Troubles of Our Days: The True Story of the American Woman at the Heart of the German Resistance to Hitler Rebecca Donner 

Girlhood Melissa Febos 

See more literary prize winners.

Print this page