Ngaio Marsh Award for Best First Novel

Christchurch City Libraries lists literary prize winners and links to catalogue searches, but we may not hold copies of all titles mentioned.

The Ngaio Marsh Award for First Novel was first awarded in 2016, and in 2017 the Ngaio Marsh Award for Best Non Fiction was introduced. Ngaio Marsh Award for Younger Readers began in 2021.

The finalists for the Ngaio Marsh Award for Best First Novel and the biennial Best Non-Fiction award will be announced at the conclusion of the Ian Rankin event at WORD Christchurch, Saturday 28 August 2021.

See more literary prize winners.

2021 finalists

Catalogue record for The girl in the mirrorCatalogue record for The beautiful deadCatalogue record for Where the truth liesCatalogue record for For reasons of their ownCatalogue record for While the fantail lives


Catalogue search for AuēCatalogue search for Into the void


Catalogue link for Crystal reignCatalogue search for One for another






The judging panel of seven crime writing experts from New Zealand, Australia, the United States, the United Kingdom, and the Nordic countries, announced the winners at the 2016 WORD Christchurch Writers and Readers Festival on 27 August.

Print this page