The Man Booker Prize

Christchurch City Libraries lists literary prize winners and links to catalogue searches, but we may not hold copies of all titles mentioned.

This literary prize, formerly known as the Booker Prize, is sponsored by the Man Group and the Booker Prize Foundation (BPF) is responsible for its organisation and operation. The Man Booker Prize aims to reward the best novel of the year written by a citizen of the Commonwealth or the Republic of Ireland.

The winner of the Man Booker Prize receives £50,000.

The Man Booker Prize differs from the Man Booker International Prize in that the latter recognises a writer’s body of work and is awarded every two years. See the Man Booker Prize website for more information.

Read eBooks of Man Booker Prize nominees on OverDrive.


CoverCoverCoverCover of The overstory by Richard PowersCover of The long take by Robin Robertson

Read: The Man Booker Prize 2018 Longlist announced

2018 Golden Man Booker Prize 

The ‘Golden Five’ were selected by the prize’s five judges to showcase the winning books from Man Booker history that have best stood the test of time, the winner was selected by public online vote.



CoverCoverCover of All that man isCover


Cover of Satin Island Cover of The Fishermen Cover of The Year of the Runaways Cover of A spool of blue thread Cover of A little life


Cover of The Narrow road to the deep north

Cover of To rise again at a decent hour Cover of We are all completely beside ourselves Cover of J Cover of The lives of others Cover of How To Be Both


Cover of We need new names Cover of Harvest Cover of The lowland Cover of A Tale for the time being Cover of The testament of Mary


Cover of Bring up the bodies Cover of The Lighthouse Cover of The Garden of Evening mists Cover of Umbrella Cover of Narcopolis Cover of Swimming Home

2012 longlist


Cover of The sense of an ending Cover of Snowdrops Cover of Jamrach's menagerie Cover of Halfblood blues Cover of The Sisters brothers

The Best of Beryl

Novelist Dame Beryl Bainbridge was shortlisted five times for the Booker Prize, but never actually won. She died in 2010 and the following year in her honour, the Booker Prize Foundation created a special prize, The Man Booker ‘Best of Beryl’, and asked the public to consider which of her five shortlisted novels best deserved to win this special tribute prize.

  • Master Geor


Cover of The Finkler question Cover of Parrot and Olivier in America Cover of Room Cover of In a strange room Cover of Long song Cover of C


Cover of Wolf Hall Cover of The Children's Book by A. S. Byatt Cover of Summertime by J. M. CoetzeeCover of The Glass RoomCover of the Quickening mazeCover of The little stranger


Cover of The White Tiger Secret Scripture Sea of poppies Clothes on their backs Northern Clemency A fraction

The best of Booker Prize

To mark the 40th anniversary of the prize, a panel of judges was asked to select a shortlist of the best books to have won the prize in the previous four decades. For the first time in the prize’s history, the overall winner was selected by an online public vote.








Earlier years’ winners