Hornby Library

Hornby Library closed all day Saturday 28 January
Closed until 9:00am Monday

Monday 
9:00AM - 6:00PM

Tuesday 
9:00AM - 6:00PM

Wednesday 
9:00AM - 6:00PM

Thursday 
9:00AM - 6:00PM

Friday 
9:00AM - 6:00PM

Saturday 
10:00AM - 1:00PM

Sunday 
Closed

8 Goulding Avenue
Christchurch, 8042
Phone: 03-941 7923
Hornby Library / Te Kete Wānanga o Te Urumanu. Hornby Service Desk is open from Monday to Friday, 9am to 5pm.

Changes in hours or services

Libraries affected by COVID-19

Check for the latest information on changes in opening hours or closures.

Justices of the Peace

Justices of the Peace (JPs)

Justices of the Peace are in regular attendance at some of our libraries. Find out where and when.

Upcoming Events

Holidays and Closures

  • Hornby Library closed all day Saturday 28 January
    Saturday, January 28, 2023
    Closed All Day
  • Waitangi Day
    Monday, February 6, 2023
    Closed All Day
  • Good Friday 7 April
    Friday, April 7, 2023
    Closed All Day
  • Easter Monday 10 April
    Monday, April 10, 2023
    Closed All Day
  • Anzac Day 25 April
    Tuesday, April 25, 2023
    Closed All Day
  • King's Birthday 5 June
    Monday, June 5, 2023
    Closed All Day
  • Matariki 14 July
    Friday, July 14, 2023
    Closed All Day
  • Labour Day
    Monday, October 23, 2023
    Closed All Day
  • Show Day
    Friday, November 17, 2023
    Closed All Day
  • Christmas Day
    Monday, December 25, 2023
    Closed All Day
  • Boxing Day
    Tuesday, December 26, 2023
    Closed All Day

Matatiki: Hornby Centre

Find out about the new Hornby library, customer services, and recreation and sport centre expected to be completed in late 2023.

New at Hornby Library

Recent News Posts

Recent Blog Posts

Back to Top